//
you're reading...
At Home

More Stuff You and I Don’t Need

I found a new product at the grocery store; Kleenex handtowels. No I didn’t buy them, but I did visit their website.

It was so informational: “People in the U.S. dry their hands on cloth bathroom towels approximately 200 billion times a year. The CDC guidelines for hand washing recommends hand drying with a single-use towel. Families have not had a practical alternative to traditional cloth hand towels in their home bathrooms… until now.”

Kleenex may have a point that germs could be spread using traditional cloth towels, I’m sure that Kleenex is selling handtowels to most of the OCD population by now.  In my world, I’d like to believe that more and more people are moving to a greener lifestyle — steering away from disposable and other single use items wherever possible.

There is nothing more disappointing to me than to see a new product enter the market touting it’s disposability and promoting the fear factor.

All of my life we have used a “common” towel in the bathroom to dry our clean hands. Keeping a stock of clean hand towels near your sink may not be convenient, but it comes with the good feeling of saving virgin forests in Canada from being cut down. What could be better than that?!

About Dawn

intense creative independent parent loving life

Discussion

8 thoughts on “More Stuff You and I Don’t Need

  1. I’ve seen these in the store and in friends’ houses. I did consider it but as I’m about as far from OCD as you can get, I didn’t purchase them. This is a good point. More packaging, more garbage, more consumerism….we NEED these to keep our families healthy? No, I can wash the hand towel in the bathroom.

    Posted by Cyndi | June 15, 2010, 7:07 pm
  2. I haven’t seen these yet (of course, it’s been awhile since this post and I seemingly avoid the aisle if I can) and while I’m all for not spreading germs (when I get sick, I get SICK), this just seems wasteful. I know there’s probably tons going to purchase these just based on the pure convenience but, I don’t think I’ll be adding this to our list anytime soon.

    Posted by Jenna @ For The Love of Baby | September 17, 2010, 10:11 am
  3. I thought the exact same thing when I saw this. I thought we were moving greener, not more landfill! I always think of George Carlin’s stand-up when I see stuff like this. He said he swam in the sludge of the Hudson and it made him stronger…comedy, but kind of he has a point. I’ve made it this far using shared towels, I think I can manage.

    Posted by Lucie Paige | October 13, 2010, 6:49 pm
  4. It’s disappointing and unnecessary, for companies to promote such disposable “stuff.” (It’s bad enough that things wear out.) And, there’s the theory that Americans aren’t being exposed to enough low grade germs so that our bodies can’t summon up the natural defenses when they’re needed.

    Posted by Karibaskets | December 21, 2010, 11:48 am
  5. “More stuff you and I don’t need” … that is basically the TRUE name of Wal-Mart.

    Posted by Elizabeth - Letters from a Small State | January 2, 2011, 1:19 am
  6. Hell I am going out to Safeway tomorrow first thing and go buy me a crate!

    Just kiddin’. Just wanted to Comment on something. I always did like you.

    We ever getting a update here! ~Pete

    Posted by Peta de Aztlan | January 11, 2011, 7:58 am
  7. In fact, on 2nd take, my Mom was a clean freak. When we were small she would clean the front sidewalk out front with Hexol. Remember that one with the nurse in white on the label? During the day around home she would keep a limpiador around her, often round her neck. Limpiar is Spanish for ‘to clean’. She would clean the hands of children with a cleaning cloth as soon as they walked in, usually followed by something to eat. ~Pete

    Posted by Peta de Aztlan | January 11, 2011, 8:02 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The Compact, again | The Sassback Initiative - February 12, 2012

Leave a Reply

