//
you're reading...
At Home

I Bought a New Mug

Yup, I bought a new thermal coffee cup today. I had the same coffee cup for 5 years until a couple of weeks ago. It was a warming red color with a tree hugger symbol on it when I found it at Houseworks in Iowa City, a consignment store I used to love. Over the years it’s white logo completely disappeared, the lid had been cracked but was still functional. My cup had flown off the top of my car a few times and I have dodged traffic to collect it. My cup became a symbol of my commitment to both the environment and caffeine.

A few weeks ago my cup took a fatal fall, not just cracking but the plastic shell broke, leaving the aluminum innards exposed through its sharp edges. I finally threw it out. Baristas knew this cup, I tell you. They started to inquire as to its whereabouts as I ordered coffee in paper cups (with plastic lids and cardboard sleeves!!!) as I waited for a new one to magically come into my life. But golly, I’ll be damned if I don’t need a cup of coffee while I’m out and about at least three times a week. I added that up to about a dozen paper cups since my cup broke.

Today I bought a new cup at a coffee shop. Yeah, I could have found one used if I had tried harder or asked some friends. But time is a luxury and I can’t seem to give up coffee.

About Dawn

intense creative independent parent loving life

Discussion

2 thoughts on “I Bought a New Mug

  1. I know the feeling… I hate getting ‘new’ stuff and cannot live without my coffee!!!

    Posted by david | April 26, 2011, 6:18 am

Leave a Reply

